snakewatch 4

This looks like an Eastern Brown Snake to me. Found it like this this morning on the driveway. I can’t tell exactly how it died, but I reckon it’s only been dead for a day or so. It doesn’t look like it’s been run over. There was Wallaby poo right next to it. Do wallabys kill juvenile brown snakes? I doubt it. Maybe a wallaby just stopped to observe the already-dead snake?

Anyway, with the warmer weather on us, I guess we need to keep our eyes open. I believe Eastern Browns are really nervous and try to avoid human contact. I’ve also been told they are responsible for more bites than any other species – probably because they are so common along the eastern seaboard and because they will ‘have a go’ if they get sufficiently annoyed or startled. Here’s to not annoying or startling one!

~ by Garry on September 30, 2008.

7 Responses to “snakewatch 4”

  1. GW.
    Aunty Lesle offers a unique answer to the snake’s death, as follows,….
    The wallaby was having a spell on the driveway, the snake came along, gave the wallaby such a start that he poo-ed himself, and the snake seeing the wallaby dump then died of fright.

    However back to more mundane things like snake bite. Only realised after seeing a snake man in action in Clifford Gardens Shopping Centre last week, that the wound is not to be washed. Reason, the hospitals are able to identify what anti-venine to use by taking and analysing swabs from around the bite area, once the victim is at the hospital. Bandage according to whatever way T has been taught etc.,

    CC.

  2. Snake bit herself??

  3. aren’t snakes immune to their own venom? And if not, wouldn’t that qualify as a serious design flaw?

    maybeee…the poo was there first, and the snake happened along to investigate and…died of the smell?

    or…no, wait…this is really good…maybe the dead snake and the wallaby poo have nothing whatsoever to do with each other

    hmmm

    and yes, I agree, washing away venom is a no no. I have made a big point of showing the snake (and a previous one) to Catherine and Christopher and impressing upon them that it is a good idea to learn to identify snakes – god-forbid they would ever need to because of a bite, but also because it is really interesting.

  4. Yikes…I won’t be sharing this blog post with any of my US friends – they are already paranoid about the deadly snakes and spiders of Australia – thanks to the Animal Kingdom Channel.

    No other snappy repertoire available.

  5. GW,
    Your description of a JUVENILE snake slewed me until I enlarged your photo and then realized that the blighter is over 2 feet 6 inches long, in fact probably closer to 3 feet, and that matey ain’t no junior. Just a little aside on that matter. My father related to me a story about a dead snake being thrown aside in the bush and a dog being poisoned by standing on its decaying head and teeth. Just how long the venom remains toxic I cannot say. Then of course there is the old ‘bushie’ story of blokes picking live ones up by the tail and cracking them like whips, thus breaking their necks, but I would not try that on for quids.

    Boots and socks and long trousers are one of the best protections from joey’s when in the scrub, that is, plus keeping a very sharp eye open We had a bloke go off his rocker when he found a brownie in his sleeping bag on one of my sojourns in the bush whilst in the Army. (We didn’t have worries like that in the Navy.)

    See ya CC.

  6. Yeah, you’re right. My guess is a bit over 800mm. From what I have read, this fella’s mum was possibly 2 metres long, which is why I called it a juvenile. But, yeah, not a baby that’s for sure.

    I have absolutely no intention of trying to crack any whips I do assure you!

    I always wear boots and socks when out and about, and jeans when it isn’t too hot – like, say today. We have rehearsed with the kids, esp. Catherine what to do when spotting a Joe Blake, and, of course, as you say, doing you best to keep an eye on where you are putting your feet is a big help.

    If ever I’m down on the block alone, I take the cordless phone with me just as a precaution. I am not keen on the idea of trying to stay still so the venom doesn’t spread, at the same time as hiking up to the house to call in an ambulance!

    All part of living in paradise…I seem to recall there was a Joey there too.

  7. GW.
    Yes, you are right. But, didn’t it tempt Eve to eat the Apple or something?
    CC.

Leave a Reply

 
