where’s harry?

Reading cropped smallreading recentThis week we crossed one of those small markers that delineate the boundaries of our lives. I finished reading Harry Potter to Catherine.

This is the second time I have read the entire series out loud to her. I read the first book “The Philosopher’s Stone” to the kids in 2003 when Christopher was 7 and Catherine was 5. The final volume “Deathly Hallows” was published in 2007, and by then it had become a family tradition to sit down for an hour or so each evening with Harry.

When we finished the last book, Christopher (then aged 11) was quite content to leave the world of Harry, Ron and Hermione behind, but Catherine, at age 9 was just ready to begin again! So for the past 18 months or so, she and I have travelled for a second time back to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry most evenings until this last week when I turned the last of some 3,489 pages (x2!) for what I imagine will be the last time.

I have enjoyed doing as many of the voices as I could mimic from the now-famous movies of the books – I especially enjoyed approximating the wonderful character actors Richard Harris as Dumbledore, Maggie Smith as McGonagall, Alan Rickman as Snape and Robbie Coltrane as Hagrid among many others.

But what has been priceless has been the family time spent together – hours and hours and hours of it, for years and years and years. Where’s Harry now? Where to from here?

Catherine turns 11 this week. I wonder if there is another series out there that can capture her imagine sufficiently for us to be able to continue the tradition for at least a few more years until the last thing she will want to do is sit down and have her old man read to her!

~ by Garry on June 14, 2009.

4 Responses to “where’s harry?”

  1. It’s so precious that you read together. I have such lovely memories of sitting in my parents’ bed while my Mum read to me … I remember we read a lot of Trixie Belden.

    Stu, Eddy and I (and now Henry) read together every night. Current books include: Dangerous Diggers and Thomas & Gordon Off the Rails. Eddy likes to read the same books over and over. Sometimes I get so sick of a book that I’ll hide it for a few days to let something else capture his attention!

  2. it really has been one of the best things!
    And I know what you mean about reading the same ones over and over again. When our two were little, we had the same thing.
    Catherine does seem now to have exhausted her interest in going back through HP, although now that the new movie has been released, I’m just wondering… yes maybe now is the time to hide all the Harry Potter books!
    (Although, don’t tell her this, but I suspect if she asked, there is a part of me that would read them all again.)

  3. I’ve still only read the first HP … for some reason Stu has all but the 2nd one. Must reserve it from the library, although I’m sure I’ll be waiting a while with the new movie out. Good recommendation from you if you’re willing to start reading aloud all over again a third time!

  4. yeah I wouldn’t say it is so much a recommendation on the HP series as that I will happily read whatever Catherine wants to hear – the experience itself is the thing for me. Harry and the gang more than satisfied me the first time around!

Leave a Reply

 
