the old man always good for a laugh

Christopher had another good laugh yesterday at his old man’s expense.

There we were in the supermarket, me pushing his wheelchair with one hand and pulling a trolley with the other, shopping list in my teeth, when a lady we know passed us in the aisle and greeted us. Just as I was taking the piece of paper out of my mouth to return the greeting, the button on my shorts popped and my pants started falling down.

Yes, my mid-section is softer and rounder than it used to be, and yes, I had personally sewn the offending button on when a similar thing happened to it a couple of years ago, and yes, I don’t normally wear a belt on my shorts, and yes, Christopher laughed all the way up and own the aisles as I struggled with one hand on the wheelchair, one on the trolley and a third holding up my pants.

~ by Garry on September 24, 2010.

3 Responses to “the old man always good for a laugh”

  1. How embarrassing. Most inconsiderate timing of that button. A plus for Christopher – a memorable day in his life.
    Mum and Dad

  2. GWL,
    When in doubt ALWAYS wear BELT AND BRACES.
    I’m sure C would just love to see you in that sort of an outfit, particularly if they were shorts you were wearing.
    CC

  3. Great story – we both had a good laugh….at your expense….but LOVE YOU!
    L & K

Leave a Reply

 
