cycad replanted

I moved this amazing specimen of ‘dinosaur food’ today. I don’t know what species it is, but I really hope it survives the relocation. Justin, if you’re out there, can you identify it from this pic?
I love it. I believe cycads are very ancient – older than flowering plants, and they reproduce as seperate male and female plants. There are a few of them around here. Hopefully they will attract a dinosaur.

~ by Garry on September 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “cycad replanted”

  1. Looks like a very successful transplant. I hope it survives too. That spot is made for it.
    LGG

  2. Yes it looks healthy at the moment doesn’t it. I trimmed off all the outer fronds. These fronds you see are all new growth over the past 2 weeks. They will curl out and down as they get bigger.
    Whether or not it was a successful transplant, only time will tell.
    I still don’t know what species it is. I’m hoping it is the Eastern Australian native. If so, its relatives have been here for 240 million years.

Leave a Reply

 
