Why I care that Steve Jobs died today

Why do I care?

I can only point to the tears that quietly rolled down my 15 year-old son’s cheeks after he used his head switch to laboriously type ‘RIP Steve 1955-2011’ and upload it to his homemade webpage this afternoon. (www.cdhills.com)

I know all about the character flaws of Steve Jobs. I know all about the cult of personality. I know all about those infuriating peccadilloes of Apple, Inc. I know all about the thousands of others who died today of preventable causes.

I also know that my boy, despite his quadriplegia and cerebral palsy, has access to the world and interacts with people online and contemplates opportunities that lie in his future like he never would have if it were not for his beloved Mac Book Pro and the magical aspects of Apple technologies. And I know that he found inspiration in Steve Jobs and he was sad today.

That’s why.

~ by Garry on October 6, 2011.

6 Responses to “Why I care that Steve Jobs died today”

  1. Wow. Very touching. So, Steve Jobs definitely has left the world a better place than when he found it, especially for some. Thank you for sharing this. Lisa. xx

  2. Hi Lisa and thanks.

  3. Heartwarming my friend.

  4. Hi Suzanne, yeah. He said to me last night as I was putting him to bed that this is the first person he ‘knows’ whose death has effected him. He wasn’t overly upset, just sad.
    You should have seen him when he was watching Apple Keynote events whenever Jobs came out on stage. He just loved him and he loves Apple. He listened to the audiobook of ‘The Second Coming of Steve Jobs’ last year, so he knows all about the rough edges and inconsistencies of the man. He says though that the guy’s feel for innovative design has inspired him. And I agree. Anyway, he was sad, so I was.

  5. Thanks for sharing this Garry… goosebumps. I was thinking of Christopher yesterday and how he just loves his Macbook Pro. His anticipation and excitement everytime Steve would announce new developments. I can amagine his reactions.

  6. He is reluctant to be called an Apple fanboy, but he knows he is one!

Leave a Reply

 
